Ugh – This is it!

“But you’ll never see the end of the road

While you’re traveling with me

Hey now, hey now

Don’t dream it’s over…”

– Crowded House, Don’t Dream It’s Over

Before we left Dallas almost two years ago, my friend, Amy, asked me to start a blog. In shyness, I refused. But the more I thought of it, the more I realized what a nice idea it would be to share my experiences with friends, family and anyone else who wanted to listen.

It has always been a childhood dream of mine to live in Europe. Germany did not ever cross my mind but I suppose we take what is given and adapt to the circumstances (even if I had to wait until my mid forties – proving it’s never too late). I cannot complain. I remain grateful for the opportunity to live in Berlin and am forever humbled by my experiences. It has been a very chaotic few weeks and apologize for the frenetic energy either through my writing mistakes or mild tantrums in person. (Yes some days are like that!) I am now able to take a deep breath and relax as we head to the airport. Sighhhh…IMG_9579Karina graduated recently and the Secondary School principal made a speech detailing 5 things to take away. He chose 5 because most people can only retain 5 points…funny thing is I only remembered two. I had to ask Odd and Karina to see what they remembered. Hopefully, she carries his advice as she ventures onto new beginnings. (I realize this is not her graduation ceremony but this was actually taken on the same day. Look how lovely the light shines as she arrives at Abi Ball. If you haven’t noticed, I like sunlight.)

  1. Be kind. It costs nothing.
  2. Time goes fast…but it is also a long life so make sure you enjoy what you do!
  3. This is a quote he favors, “whether you believe you can do something or not, you’re absolutely right.” – Henry Ford
  4. You will get advice from all kinds of people including your parents. Listen to them. It’s up to you to take it or leave it but remember they are telling you for a reason. They might actually know something.
  5. Make good choices.

Inspired by the principal and graduating speakers, the three of us sat down together and made a list of 5 things we will miss about this city. 5 seems to be the magic number of the day. So here goes in no particular order:

1. The Architecture – both the old and the newIMG_9648.JPG2. Accessibility – walking distance to cafés and the great transportation systems like the S/U Bahn and DriveNow cars.IMG_96083. Greenery – the towering trees all around the city and potted flowers on balconiesIMG_9251.jpg4. The endless rhythm of a big city – including eating (say yes to desserts!)
20160612_1603555. Friendships made – as my son, Stian, says, “it’s not so much the city as the people I miss”. I will certainly miss these amazing friends who had me at “hello” at a biergarten while apartment hunting two years ago.
IMG_9613And the librarians and volunteers who made my second year much more purposeful and enjoyable. (Sorry there are some people missing from the photo that I will miss too.) What an incredible team – thank you!

Can you believe this is my 101st post? We made it together! Thank you for following my blog or taking the time to stop in for a little read. I hope you were slightly entertained. In case you’re in the position of changing cities/countries, here are some things I wish I knew sooner:

  1. Make friends early.
  2. Be of service and smile often.
  3. Stay positive, creative and grateful.
  4. Let go and learn to ask for help.
  5. Embrace every experience – everything will be okay because in the end, it always is.

“Life is what you make it so make the best of it.”

– Shay Anthony

FullSizeRenderI took my last big bear hug in the rain last night. Ugh. I’m trying sooo hard not to be sad.

Okay my last heartfelt thank you for delighting in a lil’ speck of sunshine.

With much love and gratitude from The Big B,

Vernie

10 thoughts on “Ugh – This is it!

  1. Thank you for taking the journey and having me come along somewhere in between. I enjoyed watching you grow!
    I look forward to your next adventure.
    Xoxo
    Sj

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your blog! So glad you had so many wonderful experiences. I won’t see you at the school as I know Karina has graduated but let me know what her (and your) plans are.

    Like

  3. I have tears in my eyes! I do hope to see you soon but gosh…call me when you’re settled enough to take a break for lunch. 214-436-6426.

    Like

Leave a Reply

