Sunlight. Is. Beautiful.

IMG_3133As I have mentioned many times, Berlin is quite graaaaayyyy in the winter months. Blergh. So when the sun peeks out, I deeeeeply appreciate the beauty in light. Seriously. Sunlight. Is. Beeeeautiful. If I could, I would attach a hundred thousand exclamation marks!

I had just finished reading Joel Osteen’s The Power of I Am and began re-reading Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now this particular afternoon. So I was feeling inspired. With Oprah, Joel Osteen talks about the principle of choosing our words carefully as they represent invitations into our lives. It’s a simple idea using two words – “I AM…” that lead to amazing results. Towards the end of the book, he writes about how each one of us is a “miracle” waiting to happen.

“God will bring people across our path so that we can be the answer to their prayer.”

– Joel Osteen, The Power of I Am: Two Words That Will Change Your Life Today

So as I walked, I thought about wanting to be that ray of hope for someone even it was through a simple smile. For 45 minutes I tried to make eye contact with people on the street but that didn’t seem to work. Everyone was either lost in thought, focused on their destination, walking their dogs (who are all unleashed, by the way) or chatting with their friends.

“As soon as you honor the present moment, all unhappiness and struggle dissolve, and life begins to flow with joy and ease. When you act out the present-moment awareness, whatever you do becomes imbued with a sense of quality, care, and love – even the most simple action.”

― Eckhart Tolle, The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment

On my way home, I did, however, manage to greet the owner of a corner fruit and vegetable shop as he was closing up. I also smiled at a woman with her two sons outside a pizza parlor. Outside the Wilmersdorf Stadtbad or natatorium, I saw an older couple who appeared to be very much in love and I grinned from ear to ear. Perhaps they noticed, but I think they were lost in their bubble of affection.

On a side note, I don’t know if it’s just me but I find people are very affectionate here. It’s endearing. Many young couples hold hands and older people link arms often. It’s adorable. Other people kiss lovingly on the Bahn platform while others embrace passionately on the streets. It’s a bit uncomfortable, at times, but mainly amusing.

Anyway, I walked a different route home and as I turned the corner, the street cleared and the sun seemed to greet me with a beautiful glow. Maybe I’m being dramatic but I felt like it was wanting to be noticed, notably photographed. (Of course, silly me, the sun cannot not be noticed. How do you like that double negative? Ha!) I quickly reached for my good friend, Siri, before the cyclist could knock me over. “There it is!” I gasped. I always feel it in my heart when I have taken a photo that pleases me.

IMG_9154 - Version 2 (1)The timing of this picture was my “miracle”. I felt the flare, the radiating light, this speck of sunshine was Divine intervention. I don’t know how to explain it because I usually don’t feel this happy after a photo. So here I am sharing this moment with you.

I hope you find joy playing with light – radiating your own inner brilliance or experiencing the beauty of light from 92.95 million miles away. It may sound cheesy and a bit like something you would find on a bumper sticker from the 70’s but I like to think “the road ahead is yours to discover.” Cue in the synthesizers.

“You shine a little love on my life and let me see.”

– Electric Light Orchestra

 

Leave a Reply

