Have You Found Your Peace?

Egosays7004001.jpg1I know this will sound strange, but I do like getting older. Am I the only one? The thing about getting older is that we gain perspective and self awareness. Through all the stormy events we endure, we begin to understand what we can weather.

My mom and I had a discussion many moons ago about why some friends seem to come and go, while others remain. More recently, I saw a Facebook post that had me thinking. Some people use this platform to release their anger or pain for others to see. I am unsure if it is healthy for either party but who am I to judge – especially since I’m writing this post – ha! I only know what I know from my own experiences.

From time to time, we have all been disappointed by friends and family. No one is perfect. Sometimes there are deep misunderstandings that are hard to come back from. There were times when I found myself in the doctor’s office undergoing EKG tests. When the doctors couldn’t find any explanation, I realized the mind is a powerful tool. Heartache showed up in the literal sense – isn’t that peculiar? Energy goes where the mind goes.

“Eventually, you will come to understand that love heals everything,

and love is all there is.

The journey may take many lifetimes, but you will complete it.

It is impossible not to complete it.

It is not a question of if but of when.

Every situation you create serves this purpose.

Every experience you encounter serves this purpose.”

― Gary Zukav

What I have learned is that when friendships fall apart or fizzles out, it means that the friendship has served its purpose. There is no longer a reason for the friendship to remain. It has been a hard lesson for me to grasp but one that I have learned to accept. Every one you meet serves a purpose and the length of time they remain in our lives is not in our control. I have also learned, no matter how hard you try, you cannot make others love you. From my experience, it’s easier to let go and if it is meant to be, then the friendship will find its way back.

I trust that when people meet, we meet for a transcendent reason,

and that the challenges we face in life are always lessons that serve our soul’s growth.

– Marianne Williamson

So for my “FB friend” who posted the message on Facebook, it is time to let go. Forgiveness first, then light. Only then will you be able to let go of the anger and hurt. It can be difficult to forgive, but it is possible. And if you have forgiven and the other party does not grant you closure, it is still time to wave that white flag and surrender.

keep-calm-and-wave-your-white-flag

I have learned to meditate in a way where I shine light around that person with whom I am in conflict with. The light embraces them with good thoughts. Letting go with goodness, love and light. I know it is easier said than done but it does help bring clarity and peace.

“You’re going to go through tough times – that’s life.

But I say, ‘Nothing happens to you, it happens for you.’

See the positive in negative events.”

– Joel Osteen

I know some of you may be wondering if I’m talking about you, but not to worry. I don’t think my “FB friend” reads this blog. However, I do hope this message will reach them eventually because I would like to think that they can use their energy in areas that would better suit them. With forgiveness and love, comes a beautiful calm.

4 thoughts on “Have You Found Your Peace?

  1. Bravo Vern👍🏼 👏🏻. Well said and written, with age comes wisdom, if one have not learned the lessons by now, it’s never too late!!!
    Keep Tor light shining. Wait till you get to be my age (60), it’s liberating. Some of my friends say I am crazy, let them , I love being me!!!!
    Love to you😘
    Shirley

    Like

Leave a Reply

