Music is Love wanting to be noticed

“Little high, little low,

Any way the wind blows doesn’t really matter to me, to me.”

– Queen, Bohemian Rhapsody

IMG_8475When no one is home, I try to sing. The operative word is try because I know I can’t carry a tune for beans. Oprah says she does this as part of her morning ritual and it seems to change the energy in the room and lifts her spirits. So I try with Queen. Odd rolls his eyes every time I tell him how badly I’ve butchered songs. My nose crinkles with embarrassment.

A few weeks ago, I was listening to Adele’s Hello with Claudia, my friend from the library. She mentioned how amazing Adele’s album is.

“It’s sooooo sad, it makes you want to cry,” she said.

Silence. “Sad is good (pause) I like sad!” I replied.

To ease the awkward, we burst into laughter.

I think about all the times I have listened to City and Colour, one of my favorite Canadian artists, who sings about love, pain, his sister’s mental illness and death. His lyrics are filled with depth, despair and soul. Sadness fills the room but I absolutely love his velvet voice – it’s smooth like buttah (that’s room temperature butter). In fact, I fell in love with Against The Grain at first play.

“You need not to climb mountaintops,

You need not to cross the sea,

You need not to find a cure for everything that makes you weak.

You need not to reach for the stars when life becomes so dark,

And when the wind does blow against the grain,

You must follow your heart,

You must follow your heart.

Music is love wanting to be noticed. Isn’t that good? Karina cringed when I told her my epiphany. She does not believe me. We argue for the sake of arguing. Teenagers! I told her that different kinds of LOVE (in all its beauty and chaos) can be found in almost every song with hidden messages of faith. Essentially music is love. Music is hope. Music is a gift wrapped in sound, entangled by strings of emotions and reinforced with a giant bow of love or faith. She walked out before I could share this second epiphany. Ha.

base_imageQueen & David Bowie’s Under Pressure streams on my Spotify because this is what my soul craves these days. I know there are soooo many great songs to choose from but I like to think that this is ridiculously and outrageously one of the greatest tunes. Ever.

“Can’t we give ourselves one more chance?

Why can’t we give love, give love, give love, give love, give love?…

‘Cause love’s such an old-fashioned word

And love dares you to care for

The people on the edge of the night

And love dares you to change our way of

Caring about ourselves

This is our last dance

This is our last dance

This is ourselves

Under pressure

Under pressure

Pressure

See? Love is central – “love dares you to change.” Seriously sing. Good grief, no one is judging…except maybe your neighbors. Hehe. And I do hear my neighbors arguing today but usually I hear them singing and rockin’ their Turkish music. They are lovely people. Oh, by the way, can you believe who’s in Berlin tonight?? I’m so excited…

And for those people who don’t like to celebrate Valentine’s Day like us, gather around Mashable Humor’s water cooler. It’s silly. Happy Hearts Day in advance.

2 thoughts on “Music is Love wanting to be noticed

  1. … sing and dance like no one is watching, as the saying goes. sing it loud and sing it proud. woo hoo. like singing when you’re driving and finally you come to a stop and the driver of the car next to you looks at you and smiles. Priceless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

