Green Smoothie Challenge

“When you know better, you do better.”

– Maya Angelou

Green SmoothieTwo weeks ago, I stumbled upon a website called Simple Green Smoothies. The two moms that host the site, Jen and Jadah, are super fun and their enthusiasm is certainly contagious. Heck I want to be a “rawkstar” too.

We started the 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge on our own (the next challenge begins January 1st) and it’s going great. We are 10 days in and feel pretty darn good. At first, I could see Odd wince at the thought of green drinks daily but at first sip he was convinced – “Yes! I can do this everyday!” Karina has been drinking them daily too and sometimes she drinks two glasses. Whaaaat? As a mom of a teen, this has to tell you something.

I don’t own a magic bullet or a blender so I just wing it using my handy dandy Braun food processor. It’s probably not as finely ground as it should be but it doesn’t seem to bother us so we just drink away. Straws are optional. I have made all kinds of combinations using their chart. It’s quite simple and delicious!

SGS_makeasmoothie4I have used romaine, spinach and baby bok choy so far for the greens. I’m hoping to use kale (#ohkaleyeah) next week. I always use frozen bananas (since there should be a frozen element). I also use a combination of frozen fruit like cherries, berries, peaches, plums, grapes and fresh clementines, apples, pears, etc. It just depends on what I have on hand. Sometimes, I add flax seeds, avocado or almond butter to make it a little heartier. I notice if I use a majority of frozen fruit, the smoothie is really thick so I have scaled frozen fruit slightly or simply add more water. It’s all super tasty and good for you.

42200483z-1

They also have a Simple Green Smoothies Cookbook that just came out in early November and I’m hoping Santa will notice the book is on my wish list for Christmas. Maybe you’ll want one too. Let’s all be rawkstars and do the 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge together. Let me know what you think and please visit the Simple Green Smoothies website as they have some fabulous info and tips.

IMG_7631I know my drinks don’t look as good as theirs but heck I feel darn good.IMG_7629 (1).jpgI like to serve it in a mason jar (from one of my favorite cousins in Toronto – thanks A!) and a Texas enamel mug we ordered from Tumbleweed Texstyles.

On a side note, did you know the co-founders of Tumbleweed Texstyles are high school teachers from Frisco, Texas? I love that they give back a portion of their sales to the Frisco Education Foundation, who in turn, provide scholarships for graduating seniors.  Education is always a good thing.

Cheers y’all.

Leave a Reply

