Love’s Discovery

“The secret of a long life…laughter.

The secret of a longer-lasting relationship…laughing together.”

– Unknown

IMG_20150727_195635

One of my earliest memories of Odd is of him sitting on the floor by the Chemistry Lab at York U in Toronto with a box of Tim Horton’s Tim Bits. I later found out this was his answer to dinner between two dreaded back-to-back Labs – Physics and Chemistry. Blergh. He was wearing his black leather jacket and black jeans. Most notably, he had a mustache! Swoon. Not. Enter laugh track.

It’s funny how life aligns itself so precisely for a chance meeting that would end up in marriage. It amazes me to this day that we’re even together. Odd tried desperately to get out of that Chemistry Lab, hoping for an afternoon class to better suit his schedule. He remembers looking at me and my friend, Wyman, and thinking, “Ughhh, these girls don’t have any idea what they’re doing either!” My neighbor, Vlad, became Odd’s lab partner and the four of us would sometimes work together – completely clueless! Somehow we got through the year with pipettes, calibrations and compounds.

We laugh at the memory.

Best-friends-quotes

We married young while in college. I don’t remember why the rush – maybe it was to escape the world. Probably not the best reason to get married. Oh naiveté! A few years ago, I read somewhere a woman threatened her children, “if you get married while you’re in college, I will shave all your hair off!” I chuckled at the time and I think I may have used that line on my kids once or twice. Of course, having no hair can be a chic statement these days.

Don’t you love when this happens?

il_570xN.624200763_66no

If you’re looking for some extra light books to make you laugh this Fall season, here are a few suggestions:

Food: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan This was a Christmas gift from Stian to Odd last year and this book has been making its rounds throughout our family ever since. It is that funny! I love that he is a father of 5 children – can you picture living in the Gaffigan household? I believe this is his second book. The first is Dad is Fat! but I can only imagine Odd’s reaction if he opened that as a gift. We all think Jim Gaffigan is hilarious and love his stand-up comedy shows we used to watch in our living room together. Hot pockets.

Is Everyone Hanging Out With Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling As a fan of The Office and The Mindy Project, I had to get this book. Not only does she make me laugh out loud, she is an inspiration to many young girls. Her new book just came out recently. I’m saving to read Why Not Me on the plane. I am so excited and can’t wait!

Bossypants by Tina Fey I have to admit I like peeking into other people’s lives, wondering what makes them who they are. It’s a fast read and am amused by her dry sense of humor. I know not all of you are Tina Fey fans, but  she does share insight on how to be a leader if that helps. I like Amy Poehler’s spirit and didn’t realize Tina Fey’s BFF, Amy Poehler from (Parks & Rec, SNL), has a book out too called Yes Please so that is definitely on my list.

Let me know some of your favorite fun books. I would love to hear some of your suggestions.

Love is laughter. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Love’s Discovery

  1. Hi Lisa. Great to hear from you! Oktoberfest began on September 19 and ended by the 4th of October in Munich anyway. I think celebrations ended here last weekend. The name Oktoberfest is a bit deceiving eh? We went to a pub to watch a Liverpool game if that constitutes celebrating 🙂 Have you moved? Okay we’ll chat over email soon…

    Like

  2. I was thinking about you yesterday! You must have known I needed you to Blog!!! Actually, I saw someone at the store and thought, oh my gosh, it’s Vernie! Then I remembered, it couldn’t be you…I hope you are well and are having some fun celebrating Octoberfest. Guess I should really send you an email if I want to have a real “conversation”. I’m going to do that tonight😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

