Cookie Made Ladybugs

A good rider can hear his horse speak to him.

A great rider can hear his horse whisper.

– Author Unknown

IMG_1615 I am always excited to hear from friends and family back “home”. My good neighbor and friend, Cookie, who I can easily have a 3-hour Skype session with, sent me a picture of edible ladybugs recently. Yes, she made those! My socks were nearly knocked off because I have never known her to be in the kitchen (sorry, Cookie) except to make a soothing cup of coffee. In the 15 years I have known her, this is her first food related photo she has shared with me. I am honored and impressed. IMG_1624 Her grandchildren, Gracie (left) and Madison (right), are no strangers to ranch-style living. From all the stories and video footage I’ve seen, they excel at riding horses, especially Madison who is destined to work with animals. The horse on the right is a Clydesdale and Cookie tells me she is excited to spend time riding this summer. The idea of Cookie riding a horse, let alone a Clydesdale, still amazes me! In addition, Madison is keeping two little lambs (so cute!) for FFA this summer and a Great Dane puppy. I can’t wait to hear how they adjust to all their other animals.

FullSizeRender 2Since posting, Cookie has arrived in Bulverde, Texas to visit her daughter and grandchildren. Here she is with the 2000+ lb. Clydesdale. I actually googled and Clydesdales are really that heavy! And yes, that’s the same horse used in the Budweiser commercials. How neat.

photoCookie is one of the few real Texans I know (many of us are transplants) so I really enjoy listening to her southern drawl. She makes me laugh a lot especially when she pulls out her magnifying glass to look at a menu. I laugh, but I actually think I need one myself these days. IMG_1923Her stories linger and let me assure you, there is never a dull moment in the adventures that come her way. Last year before the move, we caught up and indulged at La Duni in McKinney. I must say they do have delicious cakes and cupcakes like the Venezuelan Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake and the Award Winning Cuatro Leches Cake.

Well, it is no surprise that the first picture of food she sent me is of ladybugs. She is an avid gardener and loves to spend time outdoors working on her lawn and garden. So ladybugs make a lot of sense. With BBQ and picnic season here, I thought I’d try this recipe. Hope you do too. Aren’t they adorable? Cookies LadybugsLadybug Hors d’Oeuvres

  • fresh mozzarella
  • fresh basil leaves
  • cherry tomatoes
  • pitted black olives
  • balsamic reduction/glaze
  • melba toast or ritz crackers

Slice mozzarella in rounds.

Tear off one basil leaf for each ladybug.

Cut cherry tomatoes in half and then split just the bottom part of each half to make wings.

Cut pitted black olives in half or quarters to make the head.

Use balsamic reduction to dot the backs of the ladybugs.

“Squiggle” (her words – hehe) some balsamic reduction on the serving plate before putting everything down.

Place all of the above on melba rounds or ritz crackers. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

