O Berry, You’ve Got Style

“O Canada

Our home and native land!

True patriot love in all thy sons command…”

– Canada’s National Anthem

IMG_6448Saturday was International Day at Karina’s school. It was a fun afternoon where parents showcased culture and food from their home country. Indonesia rocked with their fresh off the grill Chicken Satay and Peanut Sauce. Thailand boasted Papaya Salad, Pad Korat and Fried Chicken. Ireland served Blood Pudding, Irish Soda bread, Guinness and more. Korea, Japan, China, Brazil, Hungary, The Netherlands, Turkey, Croatia, Finland, Norway, Sweden, US and Canada among other nations joined the fun event with plenty of amazing food too. IMG_6444I tasted my first Spreewaldhof Spreelinge Gurken – a delicious crunchy dill pickle from the Spreewald region of Germany. IMG_6435 Britain stole my heart with their cute little Pimm’s cocktail served with two cucumber slices and a pink pinwheel. Way to go, Britain!

IMG_6430Don’t you just love the clever tag line on their tent?

IMG_6421Canada was once again shadowed by its neighbor, the US. Even on this occasion, the US seemed to steal the show with 7 tables layered with cookies, brownies and other sugar laced goodies. They also had two fun games that brought adults, children and teachers laughing together while raising money for charity. Next door was Canada who had 2 tables, one plate of pale cookies and no tent cover for this very hot afternoon. I feel somewhat responsible. In my defense, I wanted to support “O Canada, our home and native land.” I even wore the flag’s colors. It’s just that, well, the US came to me first for support. Where does my loyalty lie, eh? See this is where my identity crisis begins. I know I should have stepped up to represent my country of citizenship. Well for what it’s worth, The Philippines did not have a booth either. I guess I take full responsibility for that. To be fair, Canada is A-OK with being #2. Always has been, always will be.

Regardless of Canada’s inferior standards on booth offerings, the idea as a whole to bring the school together in the name of community was a success. Kudos to all the parents, teachers, movers and shakers for making International Day an incredible event. Let us not forget “A” (or is it “eh”?) for effort, Canada. I still stand on guard for thee – well at least some of the time.

Since Karina is a US citizen, the US called – ok it was the energetic Zumba teacher needing American fare. I thought long about what represents American cuisine in its enormity. I thought about Texas-style BBQ, mac n’ cheese, apple pie and even Rice Krispy squares. Then it dawned on me. IMG_6415Since berries are in season, I decided to keep it simple. So 3 baskets of strawberries from the Berry Imbiss dipped in white chocolate and blue sprinkles it was. Easier than pie, for sure. IMG_6417 To my fellow Canadians, feel free to sub red sprinkles for Canada Day. I forgot to take pictures but I did have this stylish berry I took last year. Berries never go out of style. Patriotic Berry

  • white chocolate, roughly chopped
  • strawberries, washed and dried with paper towels and lined on a cookie tray (there should be no trace of water)
  • blue sprinkles
  • parchment paper

In a saucepan with an inch of water, bring water to a slight simmer (do not boil). Place a heatproof bowl over the saucepan. Add white chocolate and allow to melt, stirring with rubber spatula. When melted, remove saucepan from heat, being careful not to drip water into the chocolate. Water and chocolate are not friends.

Note: if the chocolate needs to be reheated, gently re-warm saucepan being careful not to get water too hot or else chocolate will thicken. Let’s just say I learned the hard way.

Holding the stem or green leafy part, dip one strawberry in chocolate. In another bowl, have sprinkles ready. Dip tip of strawberry in sprinkles. Lay on a tray lined with parchment paper. Chill in refrigerator to set chocolate. Serve the same day they are made. Enjoy.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

