Unbreakable Smoothie

12154559In my eyes, Tina Fey can do no wrong. If you’re a fan of 30 Rock, Mean Girls, or even SNL, you will love Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, a Netflix original released Friday night. It’s a quirky comedy starring Ellie Kemper, Jane Krakowski, Titus Burgess and Carol Kane. It’s so silly that I giggled my way through 5 episodes last night. The reviews are divided, but I’m loving it no matter what others say.

It’s basically about a girl who had joined a cult and lived in a bunker in Indiana for 15 years. After being rescued, she moves to NYC. This is where her adventure begins and pretty much where I fell in love with her character. She had me at her yellow cardigan. Where can I get me one???

Kimmy Schmidt played by Ellie Kemper from The Office fame is adorable, super optimistic and a joy to watch. “Mole woman, Amelia Bedelia, Ginger, Red, chicas hamburgaras” are just a few of her nicknames. I adore nicknames and the lovable Kimmy takes them all in stride. Nothing gets in her way of her über-cartoonish spirit and adds a new level to “happiness from within.” Like many of Tina Fey’s earlier works, the writing is sharp and witty. The mood is cheerful and light-hearted. Equally important, are the messages aimed at women with humor and empowerment; that’s what makes it Unbreakable! The pace is quick, the cast is fitting and I am over the moon that Netflix chose to pick up this show for two seasons. I still have several episodes to watch and I can’t wait!

To accompany this feeling of great empowerment, here is an amazing power smoothie I whipped up this weekend. I must give credit to Sally’s Baking Addiction for the inspiration. The two layer smoothie is so pretty like an invitation to Spring, don’t you think? And it tastes delicious! It’s funny but the apple and banana really cover up the taste of the spinach. That is, if you don’t like the taste of spinach. It’s a great way to start off your day and if you watch Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, don’t forget to strike 2 minute power poses. From the inside out or outside in – either way, you’ll feel pretty darn good. I know I sure do!

Power SmoothiePower Smoothie

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Makes 2 big glasses or 3 mini milk jar sizes

DSC030142 bananas, peeled, sliced and frozen

7 strawberries, hulled and cut in half

1 – 2 handfuls (let’s say 1 – 2 cups) of baby spinach, washed

1/2 large apple, peeled or unpeeled (it’s up to you)

1 tablespoon ground flax (optional)

1/2 cup almond milk or coconut milk or milk of your choice

crushed ice, to your liking (optional)

DSC03023In a blender, blend chunks from 1 banana, strawberries and 1/4 cup coconut milk until smooth.

DSC03025If you find it too thick, add crushed ice or more milk to loosen. Pour into glasses. Wash out the blender. Blend banana chunks, spinach, apple, flax seeds (if using) and coconut milk. Again, if you like it a little thinner, feel free to add more milk or crushed ice. Layer over strawberry layer.

DSC03077Ground flaxseeds or linseeds are a healthy addition with nutrients that are comparable to omega-3 fatty acids found in salmon, Vitamin B1 and manganese. I did not have any so I left it out but I will make sure I have some on hand the next time I make these. Feel free to switch out the strawberries for mango, peaches, blueberries or whatever fruit makes you happiest. You can make a rainbow of smoothies. I know I will.

DSC03042The sun is shining and the temperature is finally rising in Berlin.

Strike a pose, smile and make it a great day!

Leave a Reply

