Crêpes will keep us together

“Just stop [stop}, ’cause I really love you

Stop [stop], I’ll be thinking of you

Look in my heart and let love keep us together, whatever.”

– Captain & Tennille

DSC02150Do you ever wonder what people talk about in the bedroom? Curious? Well, don’t get too excited but here is a rare peek of an early morning conversation in the bedroom with Odd. You have been warned.

O:  Do you want to get up first or shall I?

Me:  If I shower first, should I expect a fabulous breakfast?

O:  No because I don’t know how to make fabulous…but I’m pretty sure I married her…

Me:  (rolling my eyes, grumbling) Ugh!

And that’s how he cons me to making him breakfast. All these years, I should know better by now. Darn!

In the spirit of Valentine’s, here’s a great crêpe recipe from my cousin, Lani. Ricotta cheese replaces flour and milk so it’s gluten-free. I started using this recipe as it is light and delicate both in texture and flavor. Be prepared to lose one or two as this is the case with most crêpe batters. Kinda like ‘battles in love’, eh? Did I really just say that???

This recipe works great for both sweet and savory dishes and I just couldn’t decide what to fill mine with:  bananas, Nutella and toasted almonds? peaches and cream? or brie, pears and honey? So many options. Because I like things mini, I cut out two circles from one crêpe and alternated layers with cream cheese and strawberry jam instead. If you’re stuck, Brit + Co has some great filling ideas too.crepes amoreGluten-Free Crêpes

Makes 6 – 8 crêpes

4 eggs
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1 – 2 tablespoons sugar (decrease the amount for savory crepes)
2 tablespoons butter, melted

DSC02124In a blender or food processor, blend all ingredients. Pour into a bowl. Use a ladle to pour some batter into a hot pan and swirl so that the batter is very thin and covers the base of the pan. If you’re lucky, you may own a crêpe pan, but I just use my 8” non-stick pan. Allow to cook 1 – 2 minutes, until the edges begin to curl.

DSC02128Flip and cook another 1 -2 minutes. Remove from heat and continue until all batter is used. The trick I learned from my father-in-law is to fold each crêpe into quarters and keep them covered until ready to serve. He makes fantastic crêpes too which I always like to fill with blueberry jam and roll.

DSC02131Fill with your choice of something sweet or savory.

DSC02139Layered, rolled or folded into quarters, you can pretend they’re letters to your BFF, your sibling, child or parent.

DSC02162Colorful fruit makes everything better. It’s like sunshine on a plate. Enjoy!

Trying to keep breakfast interesting is a task on its own…but I enjoy the challenge.

heartcutouts.jpgBut if being in the kitchen is not your thing, then ordering ‘Za or ‘Sta works too. That’s me trying to make pizza or pasta sound “cool”. I can see eyes rolling already. Okay, at least have chocolate – heart shaped or not. As my Aunt Zuzu says, “No one’s judging”.

xoxo Happy Valentine’s (in advance)! xoxo

6 thoughts on “Crêpes will keep us together

  1. Hi Vern, My impossible dream apparently satisfy my liking of food U bake or make wowwww !! What a smartie cookie U are. Happy Heart Day !

    Like

  2. V! The crepes look amazing. Mine have not been turning out when I make it super thin so I’ve had to use more batter per crepe. You put Rays of sunshine in everything you cook, bake, create that’s why all your food creations look delectable, delicious, divine. Happy heart day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

