Potato Chips & Chocolate Goodness on Mars

life on mars

With the grizzly winter chill upon us, I have been happily bundling up and catching up on TV shows I didn’t know existed. Life on Mars is an award-winning British show, translated to several different languages, that originally aired in the UK in 2006. With the magic of Netflix, we watched the last episode last night. Sigh. Today, I am lost in thought, left to wonder what became of the fictitious characters…

There are so many reasons to love this show, but as a child of the 70’s, maybe it’s because of:

  • the irregular angles used to emphasize certain details of Manchester in 1973
  •  the detective work – clearly exaggerated for TV in the politically incorrect 70’s fashion, sometimes comedic but sometimes squeamishly brutal
  •  the love-hate relationship between Detective Chief Inspector Gene Hunt (Philip Glenister) and Detective Inspector Sam Tyler (John Simm)
  • the side plot where Sam likes Annie and Annie likes Sam but there is never enough time in an episode to explore their chemistry (it’s a detective show with bits of paranormal layers and underlying tones of time travel for crying out loud – it’s complicated enough)
  • the awesome soundtrack reminiscent of an era gone by
  • the skewered pineapple & cheese in Season 2, Episode 4
  • Sam’s monologue in the British accent I love (this must be the real reason) –

“My name is Sam Tyler. I had an accident and I woke up in 1973. Am I mad, in a coma, or back in time? Whatever’s happened, it’s like I’ve landed on a different planet. Now, maybe if I can work out the reason, I can get home.”

After two incredible seasons and as sad as I may be, I know Sam Tyler has found home and I guess that’s good enough for me.

DSC09085Like stumbling upon a good show, I have also accidentally found my way to this wonderfully outrageous recipe. A pair of two ingredients I would not have imagined together…kind of like Gene Hunt and Sam Tyler. So completely different yet together can work wonders. Need I say more?

Salted Chocolate Tart with Potato Chip Crust

I only made half the recipe since I couldn’t find the “Sharing Size” bag of chips here and because I like things mini, I used the small 4.5″ tartlet pans. Below is the full recipe from What’s Gaby Cooking. She uses a 9″ tart pan.

For the Potato Chip Crust
1 “Sharing Size” bag (8.5 oz) Kettle Chips, Sea Salt flavor
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup all-purpose flour

For the Chocolate Filling
1/4 cup heavy cream
10 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

For the Chocolate Ganache topping
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream

DSC09032Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place the chips in a food processor and process into crumbs.DSC09035 Add flour and melted butter. Process just until combined.

DSC09037Using a measuring cup, press potato chip mixture into tart shell.

DSC09040Warm heavy cream just until slightly bubbling. Turn off heat, add chocolate chips and stir with spatula until combined. Remove from heat, if necessary.

DSC09047Transfer to a bowl, cool slightly. Add eggs, vanilla and salt.

DSC09051Pour into tart pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 12 minutes for mini tart pans, 20 minutes for 9″ tart pan or until done.

DSC09057Use a toothpick to check for doneness.

DSC09058Remove from oven and let cool slightly.

DSC09065In a saucepan, make ganache by warming heavy cream to a light boil. Watch carefully so it does not boil over. Remove from heat and add chocolate chips.

DSC09195Using a rubber spatula, stir until smooth.

DSC09073 Pour ganache over chocolate tart and refrigerate overnight or until set.

DSC09106Sprinkle with Sea Salt and serve. Wait for the “oohs and ahhhs”.

DSC09087By the way, these are the chips I used. Sooo yummy!

Grab a slice and watch some episodes of Life on Mars. As corny as it sounds, after eating this dessert, you’ll feel “a little bit out of this world too.” I joke, I joke. I did some “googling” and apparently there is a sequel to Life on Mars set in the 80’s called Ashes to Ashes with Philip Glenister. Can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “Potato Chips & Chocolate Goodness on Mars

  1. Hi Al, Aunt Zuzu has a good recipe and I may have Nanay’s handwritten recipe but it doesn’t have directions. I will post it soon. I have not watched Downton Abbey yet. It’s not available on Netflix but I have only heard great things about it. I look forward to it!

    Like

  2. I will definitely be making this tart, looks yummy. I have been on an ensaimada kick, trying to find the perfect recipe. Do you watch Downton Abbey? also a good show.

    Like

  3. hi Vern, started watching the US version of this show. yes, brings you back in the good ole days. thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

