Falling for Apple Crisp

sc000687a9 - Version 2My father-in-law, circa 1963

Not too long ago, my father-in-law told me they harvested 53 apples at their cabin in Norway. This is quite an improvement from the 5 apples they harvested a year or so ago. Their cabin was built by my father-in-law’s grandfather in the early 1900’s so it’s quite sentimental to him.

The first time I visited, I was greeted by a tree growing on the rooftop. Since then, the tree has come down and the cabin has undergone several phases of reconstruction. It is now a place where my father-in-law takes pride in and spends his summer days with old friends, family and familiar faces.

tree on rooftop - Version 3Odd up on the rooftop, 1991

He mentioned that my mother-in-law was planning to make applesauce with those 53 apples. I then suggested this recipe from my cousin, Arlene. Coincidentally, she shared this recipe with me on the same day my father-in-law talked about their “great harvest.”

With a few pantry ingredients and fresh apples, you’ll be falling for Apple Crisp in no time. Since there is a layer of crumble on the bottom and on the top, it’s like a pie without the hassle of making pie dough. How nice is that! I only had Elstar apples so I used those but ideally a tart apple like Granny Smith is the best way to go. I will definitely make this again but will make sure I have ice cream in hand as they come out of the oven!

DSC07504Arlene’s Awesome Apple Crisp

Serves 8

Crust & Crumble

1 cup flour

3/4 cup oats

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, melted

Filling

4 cups apples, peeled and cored (preferably Granny Smith)

Sauce

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/2 cup water

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Grate 1/4 teaspoon whole nutmeg, or according to taste

Pinch or two of cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.DSC07444In a bowl, combine flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and butter until crumbly.  Set aside.DSC07452In a sauce pan, over medium-high heat, combine sugar, cornstarch and water. Stir until thick, about 1 -2 minutes. Stir in vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon.

DSC07468Peel, core and slice apples.DSC07462Lightly grease ramekins or baking dish. Then press half the oat mixture into bottom.DSC07475Add apples and a teaspoon of sauce over the apples. Taste your apple and adjust accordingly. Add as much apples as you can to the dish as they will soften as they bake. Since I used apples that were sweet, I did not use all the sauce.

DSC07477Top with remaining crumble. (I dotted with a little extra butter for fun.) Bake in oven for about 20 – 25 minutes (for small ramekins) or until golden brown and bubbly. In a large baking dish, it may take closer to 40 – 45 minutes.

DSC07515Oooh la la! It’s absolutely comfort food. It’s a long way from Texas, Toronto and Trondheim, so seeking comfort in food works for me. This ranks high next to fried chicken, biscuits and gravy, creamy mac N’ cheese and pecan pie. Yummm…

I forgot to buy ice cream and I couldn’t wait to try it so I just dug right in with a side of milk. With a little patience, I think it would have been extra yummy with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream, a drizzle of caramel sauce and a light sprinkle of toasted pecans too. Can’t wait to try it again and as they say in Texas, “with all the right fixin’s y’all!”

Stay warm!

6 thoughts on “Falling for Apple Crisp

  1. Yep that’s your sistah! She’s been sending me recipes for years and years. She loves to be in the kitchen too! And wow I have never had cinnamon gelato. That will be on my list to try some time soon.

    Like

  2. Ahem…is that recipe from cousin Arlene as in my sister, Arlene? I have not known her to be a baker. A pleasant surprise indeed. I agree vanilla bean ice cream or a cinnamon gelato would be an ideal companion.

    Like

  3. good morning Vern from chilly Wednesday morning in Toronto. This apple crisp recipe is one of my favourites as well. they are a lot of variation to the crumble, i would slight roast pecan/walnut pieces and add it to my granola as topping and yes, butter/vanilla sauce works.
    definitely chunky applesauce for my pork recipes especially on a nice fall day. Can’t go wrong with apples, there are so many ways to prepare it. I do like the individual recipes.
    just in passing, i was craving for leche flan and since i don’t use dairy, i used almond milk, soooooo yummy!

    Sehr gut!

    Like

Leave a Reply

