Banoffee, How I Love Thee

I hear the words “Banoffee Pie” uttered at The Old Forge Inn in Enniskerry and I am reminded of one of my all time favorite holiday movies. I am stuffed so I don’t order the pie but I begin to tell the waitress about how it reminds me of Love Actually. I have never tried Banoffee Pie but I do remember Kiera Knightly’s character, Juliet, bribing her husband’s best friend to show her the video from her wedding day. Mark, played by Andrew Lincoln of The Walking Dead fame (which happens to be one of my fav shows too), is reluctant, awkward and unable to divert her attention. She finds the video and sits herself down on the sofa. Do you remember this scene?

banoffee pie love actually(Doorbell rings)

Banoffee pie?

No, thanks.

You would’ve broken my heart if you’d said yes.

Oh, right. Well, lucky you.

Can I come in?

Er, yeah, well, I’m a bit busy but –

I was just passing and I thought we might check that video thing out. 
I thought I might be able to swap it for some pie…or maybe Munchies?

Actually, I was being serious – I don’t know…where it is. I’ll have a look tonight. I’ll have a poke around tonight —

Mark, can I say something?

Yeah.

I know you’re Peter’s best friend.
 And 
I know you’ve never particularly warmed to me. Look, don’t – don’t argue. We’ve never got friendly, but I just wanted to say I hope that can change.
 I’m nice. I really am, apart from my terrible taste in pie…

I don’t think it’s a terrible choice in pie at all. So much so, the next evening at The Coach House in Roundwood, I hear that Banoffee Pie is on the menu. I deliberately leave room for dessert. Before I can whip my camera out, Karina devours it in 30 seconds flat.

So begins my quest. I know finding items in Berlin is never as simple as one would think so I make a point of going into every little shop every chance I get – even the little convenience/grocery store in Laragh that doubles as a coffee shop.

I actually find digestive biscuits at the Marks & Spencer on Henry Street in Dublin and I’m ecstatic. I want to buy them all but Odd would think I’m insane so I go with one package. Next quest is to find condensed milk. I circle the aisles but am not successful.

IMG_0542Walking back through some obscure streets, we pass by a Filipino store, of all things. I have not seen one for over 2 decades since leaving Toronto. I know they definitely have condensed milk.

DSC08480With digestive biscuits and condensed milk in hand, I am now ready to make Banoffee Pie. What a great portmanteau, Banana + Toffee = Banoffee. I love saying it!…just like in the movie, zip up your sweater and cue in Dido.

Banoffee Minis
Makes 8 (I’m starting to think I have a thing for jars)

7 ounces or about 13 digestive biscuits, crumbled in food processor
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 (397 g) can condensed milk or 1 can dulce de leche
1 cup heavy cream, whipped
3 – 4 large bananas, sliced
Chocolate shavings (optional)
Sliced almonds, toasted (optional)

DSC08485If you’re starting out with condensed milk, you’ll have to submerge in water and boil for 2 hours to make dulce de leche. Be sure to have water covering the top at all times or else you will have a goopy mess all over your ceiling. I added water about every 15 minutes just to be safe.

DSC08489While that’s boiling away, pulse the digestive biscuits in a food processor until crumbly. Stir in melted butter.

DSC08499Press 2 or 3 tablespoons of the mixture into the bottom of your jar. Refrigerate until condensed milk has finished doing its thing.

DSC08525After the boil-a-thon, and the can has cooled enough to handle, carefully spoon about 2 tablespoons (it’s super sweet!) over crumb base. Add 2 or 3 layers of sliced bananas.

DSC08533Pipe whipped cream on top and add a drizzle of leftover dulce de leche.

DSC08521Or if you want you can add a banana slice, toasted almonds and chocolate too.

Oh Banoffee how I love thee…

4 thoughts on “Banoffee, How I Love Thee

  1. All that time in Texas with you, you never mentioned your experiences with Banoffee Pie – darn! Oh thank you for your Thanksgiving invitation and I have extended it to the boys but as far as I know they have decided to stay in their respective places. Soccer schedule and such. Thanks for continuing to read and hope you’re sewing up a tutu storm! xo V

    Like

  2. Yes that’s one of my favorite scenes too! Would love to see your Kale Potato pancakes. I have been on the hunt for kale as I have been craving your ground turkey and kale “go to” dish. Can’t wait to find it.

    Like

  3. Banoffee Pie was one of Ben and my best discoveries in London. We did a bit of a survey while there…haha. Haven’t made one in a while. Maybe during Thanksgiving break. As you know, you need help eating it since it’s soooo rich and lovely! You look great in the pic! By the way, remember that your boys are still invited to have Thanksgiving with us….remind them. I really want to take care of them for you during the break. Ok, I have to start my day. It’s 10am and I need to put the computer up and sew….sigh…keep exploring and having adventures. XO

    Like

  4. Love Actually is indeed one of my fave holiday films. Actually it’s an any time of the year pic for me. I love this scene with Juliette and the subsequent one where Mark “carols” one night with cue cards professing his love for her yet moving on.

    Your stories and food photography has inspired me. I made Kale Potato pancakes last night. Banofee Pie is definitely on the food horizon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

