Fear is a Friend in The Wicklow Mountains

“ Fear is a friend who’s misunderstood,
But I know the heart of life is good
I know it’s good.”
– John Mayer

IMG_3231 - Version 2Our first self guided trek EVER in The Wicklow Mountains in Ireland certainly did not disappoint. There is a reason it is called the “The Garden of Ireland”. Our Bed & Breakfast host offers us a chance to look at the views as she prepares our lunch. So a post breakfast walk it is – up a hill on a working farm.

IMG_3221I never would have imagined we would be climbing over stiles, Odd meeting another blonde (Joey, the horse, of course) or Karina feeding apples from a basin to the horses. The sheep run from us at first but then follow Karina and stare at her for a while.

DSC08022Not a bad way to start the day. Can you see Karina herding the sheep?

DSC08028Baaaaaa! Baaaaa!

IMG_3249We climb through barbed wire (not sure this was part of the plan) and take a moment to enjoy the incredible views of Enniskerry Village and its surrounding areas. The winds are strong but I forget as I admire the bold & billowy clouds.

DSC08055Breathtaking views! Sheep really do “dot” the countryside.

DSC08084Once our lunches are packed, we head up to view the largest waterfall in Ireland and the UK, Powerscourt Waterfall at 121 meters high. We stop to take photos and Karina thinks it’s funny not to include the waterfall behind us. She laughs and we laugh – haha. Silly girl! I don’t know what was going on with my hair either – darn that wind!

DSC08094We thought we signed up for the “gentle” tour. Gentle, it was not. I guess I should know that mountains are not flat.

DSC08110Going down is definitely easier than going up.IMG_3277A lone hiker coming down the mountain greets us a friendly “hello” followed by, “it’s quite windy up there!” She isn’t kidding. As we approach the top of the mountain, the terrain changes. The trail now has “a boardwalk” made of two planks of wood side by side, wrapped in wire netting and staples for good grip. The wind turns even more blustery and evil. With every step I take, I can feel the wind rip, whip and grab my backpack as if it is a parachute wanting to take me for a ride. With my heart racing and my legs shaking, I turn to Odd and scream over the wind, “I don’t think I can do this!” He holds my backpack and I start doing the Martin Short skittish dance across the boardwalk. I feel like a cartoon character but I am not laughing. I am too busy praying gravity will be my friend.

DSC08154Far in the distance I can see Karina’s salmon pink Stella McCartney jacket (I know she would want me *sarcasm* to mention her taste in fashion).

IMG_3272 - Version 2Crimson, auburn and amber hues accent the mist of gray. Can you feel the wind?DSC08159Through the drizzling rain, we climb down the mountain and walk through another forest filled with trees over 200 years old.

IMG_3283Shielded by trees, I feel calm and serene. I am, once again, humbled by nature. DSC08214After a day exploring Glendalough, we take an early morning bus back to Dublin and wave goodbye to the chickens. Despite my aching muscles and nausea from the winding roads, I feel grateful for this incredible experience. I recognize Time of Your Life playing on the radio. “I’ve had the time of my life No, I never felt this way before Yes I swear it’s the truth And I owe it all to you…” How timely is that!

4 thoughts on “Fear is a Friend in The Wicklow Mountains

  1. Vern, love this one for sure. Save all the info for me, Terry will be doing a golfing tour with his golf friends, starting in Cork, while he is golfing I’d like to do the same trip you did. Keep doing what you Love, Love, Love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

