Rice is Nice

IMG_2843In case you missed having carbs with the Lettuce Wrap recipe, here’s a rice dish that is suitable to add to that meal. In Filipino, it’s called “champorado” and it was a dish I would eat for breakfast as a young child. My fellow Filipinos know what I’m talking about. For those who don’t, it does sound strange to eat warm chocolate rice porridge for breakfast. And not just chocolate, but with added peanut butter! I don’t know if it is typical to add the PB but my dad would stir it in towards the end because he must know I like peanut butter. To make it even more bizarre, my uncle would add these little fried salty fish on top called “tuyo”. Don’t cringe, but yes, fish! I don’t remember topping my bowl with them, but my guess is that it has to do with the “sweet & salty” umami moment. Okay, this is not the strangest thing Filipinos eat, by the way…but that is a whole other topic all together.

As an adult, eating chocolate for breakfast doesn’t work for me anymore unless it’s a chocolate croissant, of course. So I have learned to make a chocolate rice pudding as a little treat for after dinner. It’s indulgent and rich. And like many things in life, a little goes a long way.

This recipe is not the traditional Filipino dish. I think the Filipino version uses sticky (glutinous) rice which I don’t usually have in my pantry. So I use arborio rice instead. I adapted this recipe from Giada De Laurentiis’ recipe – mainly because she makes food cool! Hope you give it a try.

Chocolate Rice Pudding

Serves 6 – 8

2/3 cup arborio rice
2 1/2 cups water
2 1/2 cups milk
orange zest from 1 orange
1/2 cup sugar, or to taste
2 egg yolks
1 Tablespoon cocoa
1/2 cup, dark chocolate (70%), roughly chopped or semi-sweet chocolate chipsDSC07411In a pot, combine rice, water, milk and orange zest. Bring to a boil, while stirring occasionally.DSC07408Reduce the heat to medium low and simmer, stirring frequently. Continue to cook for about 35 – 40 minutes until the rice is tender and mixture thickens. Yes, it’s time to babysit!

After 35 minutes, stir in sugar and allow to dissolve.DSC07499In a small bowl, beat egg yolks.

DSC07421While stirring, slowly add about 1/2 cup of the rice mixture to the yolks. Continue to stir, tempering the yolks (this is allowing the yolks to come to the same temperature as the mixture in the pot to prevent eggs from curdling).

DSC07429Slowly add the yolk mixture to the rice mixture, stirring the mixture in the pot constantly. Continue to cook for another 2 -3 minutes.

Note:  If you prefer vanilla rice pudding, you may omit the next step. Simply add a teaspoon a vanilla, if you like. Serve warm with butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon.IMG_2832Mix in cocoa and chocolate, stirring until thoroughly combined. If you’re the adventurous type, you can add 2 – 3 Tablespoons peanut butter here but it’s purely optional.

IMG_2839Remove from heat and allow to cool, stirring occasionally.

Note: Feel free to add milk, to adjust pudding consistency to your liking. It does thicken as it cools.DSC07279Spoon into serving cups/bowls and refrigerate 2 – 3 hours.

I prefer to eat this warm with a swirl of evaporated milk, but if you want to follow Giada’s recipe, she serves it cold. Whichever way you choose, you can’t go wrong. Enjoy!

If you’re curious, take a peek at Giada De Laurentiis’ Chocolate Rice Pudding Recipe.

One thought on “Rice is Nice

  1. That looks really yummy! Historically, I’m not into rice pudding but this makes it look SO yummy I think I’ll try again. It reminds me of Thai sticky rice which I love….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

