One Potato, Two Potato…

IMG_2837 - Version 2If I remember correctly, the first week we were here, Odd found this humongous bag of potatoes for a really good price – 1,11 Euros to be exact. I said, “what in the world am I going to do with sooooo many potatoes?” He put the bag in the cart and didn’t answer the question. It was my job to figure it out.

One Potato – Boiled Potatoes
Two Potato – Mashed Potatoes
Three Potato – Potato Pancakes
Four – Torta (Filipino omelette with potato)
Five Potato – Sarsiado (Filipino stew with tomatoes, red pepper and potatoes)
Six Potato – Potato Latkes
Seven Potato – Pittsburgh Pierogies
More…

Potato Latkes
Growing up in a Jewish neighborhood, I learned about latkes from my Jewish friends. It is typically served around Hanukkah since the oil used to cook the latkes is symbolic of the flame that lit Israel. It’s not quite Hanukkah yet but it is Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year (Sept 24 – 26). I also learned that eating a combination of apples and honey symbolizes a sweet new year. So instead of apple sauce, try serving with apple slices dipped in honey to honor these High Holy Days. To my Jewish friends – “L’shanah tovah u’metukah!” or “Have a good and sweet new year!”

I used this recipe – remembering to use 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 on everything except the salt.

2 cups potatoes, peeled and shredded (place the potatoes in a bowl of cold water to prevent from browning, drain and squeeze the water with paper towels/cheesecloth as much as possible)
2 tablespoons onion, finely diced
2 eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon salt
oil for frying

Gently mix shredded potatoes, onion, eggs, flour and salt in a bowl.
In a skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat.

IMG_2741Place spoonfuls of potato into hot oil and press down to form 1/4” – 1/2” thick patties. Brown on one side and turn to brown the other side.

IMG_2742

Line a baking sheet with paper towels and sprinkle lightly with salt, if desired.

IMG_2748Serve with applesauce. Enjoy!

Odd couldn’t stop raving about how good these were. I guess he was tired of the boiled potatoes too.

Pierogies
Pierogies brings me back to my college days over 20 years ago (oh how time flies!) because a girlfriend way back in the day told me how easy and inexpensive they are. I had forgotten all about them until now. This is a little more time-consuming but it only requires a few basic ingredients – butter, flour, egg, sour cream, potatoes and cheese. I was able to make 20 pierogies and that was more than enough for the three of us. You can certainly refrigerate uncooked pierogies for a few days or place them in the freezer.

Pittsburgh Pierogies with Sour Cream
Adapted from http://pittsburgh.about.com/od/recipes/r/pierogies.htm

Ingredients
For Dough
2 cups flour, plus extra for kneading & rolling dough
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg, beaten
1/2 sour cream, plus extra for serving
1/4 cup butter, softened and cup into small pieces

1. In a bowl, with a wooden spoon, mix together flour and salt.
2. Make a well in the center and add beaten egg, sour cream and butter.
3. Mix until it forms a dough, about 5 – 7 minutes.
4. Form into a disk, wrap in plastic and place in refrigerator for 30 minutes or overnight.

For Filling
3 – 5 large potatoes
1 onion, diced (I only had 1 onion so I saved the onion for caramelizing instead)
1/2 – 1 cup of grated Cheddar cheese (I used Parmesan and Emmentaler because that is what I had, but Cheddar is good too)
fresh parsley, finely chopped
salt & pepper

1. Peel and boil potatoes until soft.
(2. Sauté onion in a little butter/oil until soft.)
3. Mash the potatoes and add the onions and about 1/2 cup of grated cheese. You can add more if you want it cheesier.
4. Add salt & pepper to taste. Allow to cool and add parsley. You can certainly add bacon bits, chives or anything else your heart desires.

Making Pierogies
Roll the dough on a floured board until 1/8” thick. Cut circles (2” for small or 3 – 3 1/2” for large) with a cookie cutter. I don’t have a rolling pin so I used a drinking glass to roll and cut. It worked just fine.

IMG_2681Place about a tablespoon of filling in the center and fold the dough over to form a semi-circle.

IMG_2684Press the edges together and seal with fork.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Drop pierogies gently and boil for 8-10 minutes. They are done when they float to the top. Rinse in cool water and let dry. (I cooked mine in batches because my pot is small and I didn’t want any overcrowding issues. I forgot to rinse mine but I did dry them on paper towels.)

Add a tablespoon of oil/butter to a skillet and pan fry the pierogies until lightly crispy.

IMG_2685Serve warm with caramelized onions and sour cream.

They’re super delicious even if I did burn the last batch. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “One Potato, Two Potato…

  1. Hi Arlene, thanks for being patient with my posts. I had the hardest time configuring the menu bar today. Anyway, that is a good idea mixing sweet potato. Love that idea!! I tried the Rouladen a couple weeks ago. I might try to post but it didn’t look good because the filling was falling out but it tasted good. I haven’t made the overnight muesli yet but we do have yogurt from the glass jar daily with granola and fresh fruit. Like my friend, Sue, has told me, “it’s a scavenger hunt” looking for items here 🙂 Hugs…

    Like

  2. hello Vern, thank you for sharing your recipes and your blog. Latkes my favourite. I make it for brunch. I also have another variation in which I used mixed potato and sweet potato. i also love Rouladen with spätzle. I learned some German dishes from Paul Schueder. The Eastern European dishes tend to be bland, but you can always improvise and tweek it to make it your own.
    Have you made your overnight refrigerator muesli for Odd’s breakfast.
    Am happy to know that you are adapting to your own new surroundings.
    you truly are a pilgrim.
    stay present and always be mindful.
    Namaste!

    Like

Leave a Reply

